Yu-Gi-Oh! Life Point Tracker for the TI-83Plus

Haldrie

I thought I would post this here since the TI Graphing Calculator series has been known to have several games made for it and some models are also nearly perfectly emulated.

As this topics title states, I have designed a program for the TI-83Plus calculator that is capable of keeping track of muliple player's life points for the Yu-Gi-Oh! Trading Card game. I began working on this program back in High School and have made a few updates to it since it's original version as well as added new features and different codeing methods to try and use as little memory as possible. I originally made the program so I wouldn't have to keep guessing what my life points were every time I dueled someone and I then began to share it with others. This was only the early versions of it however as I contiued to work on it for some time after I graduated.

I learned how to program on the TI calculators by examing the program sources I fould in my Algebra book. I would experiment with the code to see what would happen and quickly saw a way to make the code for the original version of my LP tracking program. It was full of gliches and mistakes however that I soon resolved by rewriting the program to make it a bit more stable and "idiot proof" thus creating the next version. I however was the only one that knew of this program and I didn't actually own a graphing calculator of my own at the time so I would use some "spare time" in Algebra class to use the school provided calculator to test my program in. I gained enough knowledge from doing this to be able to write and review the code on paper before actually entering it into the calculator making it much easier to see problems and pick out useless code.