Jump to content

Welcome to 1Emulation.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

How fast of a computer would I need to run SFEX2P

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
Iori Yagami

Iori Yagami

    Member

  • Members+
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
Click to view battle stats
I'm at my brother's computer (2.4 Ghz, 512 mb RAM), at it still lags (although its nowhere near as bad as my 4 year old hunk of junk). It has some major resource hogs (norton, AVG, Ad-Aware, and spybot shields are all running) which may be the reason.

anyways I'm building a new computer and I'd like to run Street Fighter EX 2 Plus at full speed.

How fast of a computer would I need?

is there anyway to alter the settings on MAME32 to make it run faster?

#2
Wizard

Wizard

    Da Flyin' Helmat Boy

  • 1Emu Veteran
  • 12,103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ribhouse Restaurant
  • Interests:DELICIOUS TRAPS, DELICIOUS LOLIS, HEALTHY GIRLS, DELICIOUS CAKE.


    THe CAKE IS REAL
Click to view battle stats
I think it's because mame sucks for games like that.

#3
Gryph

Gryph

    The K Man

  • 1Emu Veteran
  • 14,666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, IL
Click to view battle stats
Yeah, you shouldn't configure your new computer around running SFEX2Plus in MAME. Just use Zinc, it's way better and super smooth.

Edited by GryphonKlaw, 17 September 2004 - 06:11 PM.


#4
Agozer

Agozer

    Board Script AI | 16-bit Corpse | The Mummy

  • User Admin
  • 19,839 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nokia Land
  • Interests:Video games, plain and simple.
Click to view battle stats
Thirded. Running 3D games on MAME is usually a no-no.

#5
James

James

    Emulation Master

  • 1Emu Veteran
  • 2,884 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle Australia
Click to view battle stats
P4 3.6gig with 1gig memory should help it :lol:

Edited by James, 18 September 2004 - 05:06 AM.


#6
shin_nihon_kikaku

shin_nihon_kikaku

    Varnson | Pennypacker | Vandelay

  • Premium Members
  • 548 posts
  • Location:Sheffield, England.
  • Interests:Japanese Videogames and emulation thereof, Game Design, Music (everything - 80s pop, dance, rock, classical etc), working in Photoshop, writing rants about games and how crap most of them are, playing MAME with my Dreamcast arcade stick.
Click to view battle stats
I concur. use Zinc and you can play it at its proper speed TODAY.

#7
Robert

Robert

    Alchemist

  • User Admin
  • 11,190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Land of Oz !!
Click to view battle stats
I tried running it on my 333.

I won't say it ran, more like crawled. The frame rate was 0.

#8
James

James

    Emulation Master

  • 1Emu Veteran
  • 2,884 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle Australia
Click to view battle stats
Mame on a 333mhz :( wow thats slow.

#9
Agozer

Agozer

    Board Script AI | 16-bit Corpse | The Mummy

  • User Admin
  • 19,839 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nokia Land
  • Interests:Video games, plain and simple.
Click to view battle stats

Mame on a 333mhz  :(  wow thats slow.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Indeed it is. A little faster than my old 200, but not much.

#10
Robert

Robert

    Alchemist

  • User Admin
  • 11,190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Land of Oz !!
Click to view battle stats
My main interest is in old 70s-80s games, and they run at full
speed on my 333. Last week someone donated 9 gigs of
mame stuff, so I thought to try some of the newer ones.
They don't go too well !! :devilboy:



If you really want slow, try running galaga on a 386.
takes 10 minutes to get past the messy graphics at the
start.

Edited by robbbert, 06 December 2004 - 08:00 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users