Jump to content

Welcome to 1Emulation.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

How come KOF2k3 work in MAME but no NRX/Kawaks?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1
RuneEdge5k1

RuneEdge5k1

    Beginner

  • Members
  • 10 posts
Click to view battle stats
It's obvious that MAME has something special that the other emus don't have. I thought I might try to figure out what it was myself. I used a hex editor and went through all the files in the emu. After nearly an hour, I found the dat file which was HUGE. After ages of searching through that, I found the KOF2k3 data which was the same as the ones that we all tried to use for Kawaks but didn't work.

This was used in MAME:

[Program]
271-p1.bin,0,100000,92ed6ee3,0
271-p2.bin,100000,400000,5d3d8bb3,0

[Text]
271-s1.rom,0,20000,c47f8ac3,0

[Z80]
271-m1d.bin,0,20000,0e86af8f,0

[Samples]
271-v1d.rom,0,400000,d2b8aa5e,0
271-v2d.rom,400000,400000,71956ee2,0
271-v3d.rom,800000,400000,ddbbb199,0
271-v4d.rom,C00000,400000,01b90c4f,0

[Graphics]
271-c1.rom,0,800000,e42fc226,0
271-c2.rom,1,800000,1b5e3b58,0
271-c3.rom,1000000,800000,d334fdd9,0
271-c4.rom,1000001,800000,0d457699,0
271-c5.rom,2000000,800000,8a91aae4,0
271-c6.rom,2000001,800000,9f8674b8,0
271-c7.rom,3000000,800000,374ea523,0
271-c8.rom,3000001,800000,75211f4d,0
(It wasn't layed out like this)

I tried it in other emus and it don't work but it does for MAME. Does anyone know why?

#2
Agozer

Agozer

    Board Script AI | 16-bit Corpse | The Mummy

  • User Admin
  • 19,839 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nokia Land
  • Interests:Video games, plain and simple.
Click to view battle stats
NeoRAGEx doesn't use DATs.

#3
Wizard

Wizard

    Da Flyin' Helmat Boy

  • 1Emu Veteran
  • 12,103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ribhouse Restaurant
  • Interests:DELICIOUS TRAPS, DELICIOUS LOLIS, HEALTHY GIRLS, DELICIOUS CAKE.


    THe CAKE IS REAL
Click to view battle stats
And Mame is/was open source, so its very easy to get something running on it.

#4
saiyanfire

saiyanfire

    The Dark Angel

  • Premium Members
  • 293 posts
  • Interests:anime, emulation, drawing/art
Click to view battle stats
also the bios are different, so i guess they just went into the mame programming and changed the definitions of the neo geo bios to the ones used in kof2003.
btw how did it take you that long to find them. if you changed the mame.exe to a.txt you can find the things by just searchin for one of the rom names

Edited by saiyanfire, 01 February 2004 - 04:38 PM.


#5
Spiffy

Spiffy

    Teh Vempyr Slayer

  • Premium Members
  • 376 posts
  • Location:CastleVania
  • Interests:Emulation, RPG Games, Bishoujo, Music/Mp3, Animes, Arcade Malls, Watching DVD Movies.. more..
Click to view battle stats
we gotta wait for the hack p1's.. :D

#6
Revanto

Revanto

    Newbie Poster

  • Members
  • 1 posts
Click to view battle stats
I tried this out with a different loader for kawaks and it seemed to work except the I got a blue and white grid. I'm guessing this has to do with the talked about new P1.bin file that's still to come out for it to work. I think I saw a p1 file on filemirrors.com but am not sure this is the one everyone is looking for.

Revanto




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users