Nebula 2.25b, Samurai Showdown 5 Special

Hello there dear community. To have a common ground - I am a great noob concerning the making of .dat files.

This is more of a desperate post as I haven't been able to resolve my current problem.

I have been able to run Samurai Showdown 5 Special in Kawaks, in Mame but I haven't been able to make Nebula even see the rom.

I do not have a .dat for the game nor have I been able to make one with RomData (might be a very, very old version).

I've seen that there is information concerning the content of Samurai Showdown 5 Special .dat but I do not know how to make one from scratch.

I prefer using Nebula because of the HQ4x Enhancement.

Please do not get mad because of my lack of knowledge. I am eager to learn but haven't actually found anything on the topic.

How can I make Nebula see roms (they are in .zip containing .bins). How can I make a .dat?

In a nutshell, how can I get to play Samurai Showdown 5 and other relatively new games on Nebula if the emulator doesn't see them?

Thank you so much for the time spent reading the post. I must find a solution!

Yours truly',

Nebula 2.25B does not support Samurai Shown V nor Samurai Shodown V Special.

You can't change how and what files Nebula 2.25b loads, because every romset that Nebula uses is hardcoded into the internal database of the emulator. No amount of DAT editing and fiddling will change that. Now, There is a hacked Nebula 2.25 Loader somewhere, which loads custom DAT files, enabling you load your sets that aren't supported by Nebula. No, we don't link to it here.

Personally speaking, you'd be much better off by getting an emulator that supports Samurai Shodown V Special as is, instead of clinging to something as old as Nebula (four years and counting) just because of one video blitter. Try FBA Shuffle, for example EDIT: -- which has HQ4X, btw.

Thank you so much for the fast reply.

Edit: Managed to get it to work.