Problem running MAME

Hey everyone.

I am new to installing/running mame, and I could use some help. Currently I have Windows 7, and am using virtual PC to emulate Windows XP. Within XP I have installed mameui. When I attempt to load any of the games I get the message " Proposed video mode not supported on this device", "Unable to initialize Direct32".

Anyone have any ideas on how to correct this. I've been reading about the topic on forums, but I find that making the display 32bit, or setting the command window to "Window" instead of "Full Screen" makes no difference despite what others have suggested may be the problem. I don't think it is that I am running a virtual pc bc others have the exact same problem. Also, I will mention that I have created the mame .ini file (as others have suggested) to no avail.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

-John

Is MAME not supported under Windows 7? I find that hard to believe. Using an emulator to emulate yet another emulator is often asking for trouble.

Anyway, force MAME to use a certain in-game display resolution (i.e. a sane 1024x768x32) instead of leaving resolution to 'Automatic' (or whatever term MAMEUI uses) and see if that helps.

ok so somehow I assumed that it would not run on win 7. I stand corrected. So, now I have downloaded the mameui, loaded same game zips into the /rom directory but they will not run. What happens is I run the game from the mameui console, and it pops up and tells me tons of files are missing. The files are .bin and .rom files. Any idea what I'm doing wrong here?

btw, it's all the games I have loaded, not just a single one.

Thanks

Well, for starters, what games are you trying to run? I'm assuming that you are missing the necessary BIOS files for these games or you didn't get proper MAME sets to begin with.

Gives us a small sample of the filenames/sets that MAME reports as missing.