Jump to content

Welcome to 1Emulation.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

Request for Testing (Internet Radio Client)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1
Grey

Grey

    Novice

  • Members
  • 33 posts
  • Location:Alberta
Click to view battle stats
I know that I've waited, I've begged, and I've drooled at the thought of this app ever being made. :blink: I don't know if any of you have wanted an Internet Radio Client as much as I have... but here we are. The first working release of Dissonance.

http://people.uleth....dy/projects.php

I would appreciate it if someone with a fully compatible router can test Dissonance for me. I would also appreciate if word did not spread off of this board for a day or two, until I can get some testing done (so keep it SECRET. I will notify the usual authorities when I get some testing data). On my router, it works for a few minutes, then locks up solid during a recv. I am wondering if it's my router, or something more sinister. So please, give me a hand. :(

Thanks sgstair for the library that makes all this possible.

EDIT: PS: I know the registration process for this forum is a little intense. If you don't want/can't get registered, then please email me at matter.grey@gmail.com

Edited by Grey, 17 May 2006 - 10:51 AM.


#2
infernoDS

infernoDS

    Member

  • Emulator Author
  • 68 posts
Click to view battle stats
I'll see what I can do when I get home, I'm using a Ralink card, so knowing if that works might be important for those that bought a similar card for wifime.

#3
Robert

Robert

    Alchemist

  • User Admin
  • 10,698 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Land of Oz !!
  • Interests:MESS development
Click to view battle stats
Welcome Grey, and thanks for showing your project to us. :)

Let us know when you're ready to go public,
and we can make an item on the front-page news,
and also enter it on digg for you.

#4
Grey

Grey

    Novice

  • Members
  • 33 posts
  • Location:Alberta
Click to view battle stats
Thanks. :) Good to feel welcome.

The problem I am having is that recv is called, but then doesn't come back, thus freezing up the ARM9 during playback. It happens at a fairly random time, but usually runs for a couple of minutes before doing so. You wouldn't happen to know why, would you?

#5
Robert

Robert

    Alchemist

  • User Admin
  • 10,698 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Land of Oz !!
  • Interests:MESS development
Click to view battle stats
Sorry, I'm just the janitor. :) I'm sure that when
the various devs visit over the next couple of days
they will be able to offer suggestions.

#6
jas20

jas20

    Novice

  • Members
  • 20 posts
Click to view battle stats
Ok I got it running on my SCSD and I use a dlink router.

I have dialup, and it didn't take long for it to go nuts (it would keep repeating what it received).

#7
Grey

Grey

    Novice

  • Members
  • 33 posts
  • Location:Alberta
Click to view battle stats
Yeah. It does seem to really accelerate the issue when the connection isn't that good. It requests data, doesn't get anything, and rather than returning 0 or -1, it just freezes. Well, I suppose I know the problem... I just need to wait for someone with more knowledge than myself (sgstair?) to tell me what I can do about this.

#8
infernoDS

infernoDS

    Member

  • Emulator Author
  • 68 posts
Click to view battle stats
I had good 1.5 minute of audio on the SHOUTcast Distributed Network Audio Server, the first time I tested it. After this some real strange symptoms became popping up all of a sudden. Ah well.. It seems you're not the only one with these problems. Some info:

Nintendo DS Flashme v7
Tested on GBAMP 256mb CF
6 megabit internet connection
Ralink softap, TX Rate set to auto (11mb when testing the radio)

Hope it helps!

#9
QazzaQY2K

QazzaQY2K

    Newbie Poster

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Location:Sweden
Click to view battle stats
sweet works like a charm here not sure how long it's been playing yet but well over 5 min's still playing ;D got a Passme v7 SCSD 2Gb SD.. Wifi is Asus WGL-167 SoftAP mode ;D

if u want i can capture some wifi data it sends and stuff with Ethereal just give me a pm or msg me on msn.. keep up the great work ;D

edit

was on like 7 mins now it's like 2 mins..
Heres a capture of it open with Ethereal to c it ;D

Download 300Kb

Edited by QazzaQY2K, 18 May 2006 - 12:00 AM.


#10
infernoDS

infernoDS

    Member

  • Emulator Author
  • 68 posts
Click to view battle stats
Maybe you should buffer the data first before playing, I don't really know the problem, but if it is a problem in the transfer (TX rate dropping or s/t), buffering might be a good idea. I will look at the source, tho.

EDIT: I looked at your code and already discovered a buffer function. You could try making the buffer function somewhat more advanced, maybe incorporating the space on a CF-card or something.
I'll do some more test to see what is really the matter :).

Edited by infernoDS, 18 May 2006 - 05:42 AM.


#11
infernoDS

infernoDS

    Member

  • Emulator Author
  • 68 posts
Click to view battle stats
Sorry for another post :).
It seems it is working quite well now for some akward reason... I first thought that it could be problems with the ram of some sort, but that doesn't (I think) seems to be the problem now.
Ah well.. good luck!

Edited by infernoDS, 18 May 2006 - 06:17 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users