[5/8/06] Me and My Katamari for PSP

Game: Me and My Katamari

System: PSP

929985_70175.jpg

Katamari. A sticky ball. Any objects get rolled over by this ball will get stuck on it.

Trust the Japanese to come up with this weird idea of a game, with weird characters, and

weird settings.

This is my first time playing this game after seeing great reviews from fellow gamers and

online review site. I have never buy and play the PS2 version because it was too weird for

my taste. I mean, c'mon, how can rolling up objects fun??

Anyway, the Katamari story revolving around King of Cosmos, who always make a blunder,

and his son, the Dashing Prince, who always help to clean up the mess. This time, the Royal

Family is taking a holiday on Earth where they go to the beach to enjoy. It seems that the King

of Cosmos acidentally create huge waves while swimming which wipes out the nearby islands

causing the animals to be homeless. So, the Prince has been instructed to help the animals

by rolling up objects to create islands for them.

Graphics:

929985_20051117_screen014.jpg

929985_20051215_screen001.jpg

The graphic on the PSP is not the best that you have ever seen, but the cartoonish and blocky style

is quite interesting and unique. The objects in the game are not so detailed but you can still make

out what the hell are the things that you rolled up. However, there are still some minor downgrade

in this department. Whenever the katamari get to a certain size, it will "eat" up the objects you rolled

and only show some of the larger objects on the katamari. it seems that this was to avoid taxing the

PSP CPU from showing too many objects on the screen at the same time. However, it STILL causes

some slowdown during the transition whcih might bother some people.

Graphic: 7.5/10 (decent graphics but hampered by a little slowdown in some places)

Sound:

Ok, I admit. I am hooked to the "Na,na......na,na,na,na,na,na,na...." music. The music is very